CHAPTER 2007-120

Council Substitute for House Bill No. 1039

An act relating to the Southwest Florida Water Management District; amending s. 373.073, F.S.; increasing the number of governing board members of the district; revising the residency requirements for vacancies on the governing board of the district; providing for appointment of additional members and members to offices that have revised residency requirements; providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

Section 1. Paragraph (a) of subsection (1) and paragraph (e) of subsection (2) of section 373.073, Florida Statutes, are amended to read:

373.073 Governing board.—

- (1)(a) The governing board of each water management district shall be composed of 9 members who shall reside within the district, except that the Southwest Florida Water Management District shall be composed of 13 11 members who shall reside within the district. Members of the governing boards shall be appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate at the next regular session of the Legislature, and the refusal or failure of the Senate to confirm an appointment creates a vacancy in the office to which the appointment was made. The term of office for a governing board member is 4 years and commences on March 2 of the year in which the appointment is made and terminates on March 1 of the fourth calendar year of the term or may continue until a successor is appointed, but not more than 180 days. Terms of office of governing board members shall be staggered to help maintain consistency and continuity in the exercise of governing board duties and to minimize disruption in district operations.
- (2) Membership on governing boards shall be selected from candidates who have significant experience in one or more of the following areas, including, but not limited to: agriculture, the development industry, local government, government-owned or privately owned water utilities, law, civil engineering, environmental science, hydrology, accounting, or financial businesses. Notwithstanding the provisions of any other general or special law to the contrary, vacancies in the governing boards of the water management districts shall be filled according to the following residency requirements, representing areas designated by the United States Water Resources Council in United States Geological Survey, River Basin and Hydrological Unit Map of Florida—1975, Map Series No. 72:
 - (e) Southwest Florida Water Management District:
 - 1. Two members shall reside in Hillsborough County.
- 2. One member shall reside in the area consisting of Hillsborough and Pinellas Counties.

- 3. Two members shall reside in Pinellas County.
- 4. One member shall reside in Manatee County.
- 5. Two members One member shall reside in Polk County.
- 6. One member shall reside in Pasco County.
- 7. One member shall be appointed at large from Levy, Marion, Citrus, Sumter, Hernando, and Lake Counties.
- 8. One member shall be appointed at large from Sarasota, Hardee, De-Soto, Charlotte, and Highlands Counties.
- 9. One member shall be appointed at large from Levy, Marion and, Citrus, Sumter, Hernando, Lake, Sarasota, Hardee, DeSoto, Charlotte, and Highlands Counties.
- 10. One member shall be appointed at large from Sarasota and Charlotte Counties.

No county described in subparagraph 7., subparagraph 8., or subparagraph 9. shall have more than one member on the governing board.

- Section 2. Appointments to the new offices as members of the Southwest Florida Water Management District which are created under section 1 of this act shall be made as follows:
- (1) The new at-large member for Levy, Citrus, Sumter, and Lake Counties shall be appointed to a term of office commencing after expiration of the term of the person serving as the at-large member for Levy, Marion, Citrus, Sumter, Hernando, and Lake Counties on the effective date of this act.
- (2) The new at-large member for Marion and Hernando Counties shall be appointed to a term of office commencing after expiration of the term of the person serving as the at-large member for Levy, Marion, Citrus, Sumter, Hernando, Lake, Sarasota, Hardee, DeSoto, Charlotte, and Highlands Counties on the effective date of this act.
- (3) The new at-large member for Hardee, DeSoto, and Highlands Counties shall be appointed to a term of office commencing after expiration of the term of the person serving as the at-large member for Sarasota, Hardee, DeSoto, Charlotte, and Highlands Counties.
- (4) The new at-large member created for Sarasota and Charlotte Counties and the new member residing in Polk County shall be appointed as soon as possible in 2007 to terms of office which expire on March 1, 2011.
 - Section 3. This act shall take effect upon becoming a law.

Approved by the Governor June 12, 2007.

Filed in Office Secretary of State June 12, 2007.