CHAPTER 2019-184

Committee Substitute for House Bill No. 1423

An act relating to the Pinellas County Construction Licensing Board; amending ch. 75-489, Laws of Florida, as amended; revising residency requirements for certain board members; providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

Section 1. Subsection (1) of section 12 of part II of chapter 75-489, Laws of Florida, as amended by chapters 2018-179, 2003-319, 93-387, and 89-504, Laws of Florida, is amended to read:

Section 12. Pinellas County Construction Licensing Board; organization; meetings, and powers.—

(1) The Pinellas County Construction Licensing Board is created, within the county of Pinellas, consisting of 15 members. All members of the board must be residents of Pinellas County with the exception of any governmental building officials. All members of the board shall be appointed by the Pinellas County Board of County Commissioners, as follows:

(a) Eight members, including the following:

1. One general contractor who is licensed to do business in this state and actively engaged in the profession.

2. One architect who is registered to practice in this state and actively engaged in the profession.

3. One residential contractor who is licensed to do business in this state and actively engaged in the profession.

4. One electrical contractor who is licensed to do business in this state and actively engaged in the profession.

5. One plumbing contractor who is licensed to do business in this state and actively engaged in the profession.

6. One mechanical contractor or Class A air-conditioning contractor who is licensed to do business in this state and actively engaged in the profession.

7. One roofing contractor or sheet metal contractor who is licensed in this state and actively engaged in the profession.

8. One swimming pool contractor, aluminum specialty contractor, or veneer specialty contractor who is licensed in this state and actively engaged in the profession.

(b) The Pinellas County building official.

1

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

(c) Two consumer representatives not affiliated with the construction industry.

(d) A fire official.

(e) Three building officials, as follows:

1. A North county building official from one of the following municipalities: Clearwater, Tarpon Springs, Dunedin, Oldsmar, Safety Harbor, Belleair, Belleair Bluffs, or Largo;

2. A South county building official from one of the following municipalities: St. Petersburg, South Pasadena, Gulfport, Seminole, Kenneth City, or Pinellas Park; and

3. A Beach Community building official from one of the following municipalities: the City of Belleair Beach, the Town of Belleair Shore, the Town of Redington Beach, the Town of North Redington Beach, the City of Madeira Beach, the City of Indian Rocks Beach, the Town of Indian Shores, the Town of Redington Shores, the City of Treasure Island, or the City of St. Pete Beach. All members of the board must be residents of Pinellas County and appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.

Section 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2019.

Approved by the Governor May 23, 2019.

Filed in Office Secretary of State May 23, 2019.